The Curious People

You know the type. The kind of people who are rarely bored and rarely boring. They’re always doing something interesting, discovering something new, stumbling upon the most amazing stuff. It just seems to happen to them. But somehow, they’re good at it. They can find the unusual inside the most ordinary of circumstances. They can take something plain and transform it into something extraordinary.

"What do you mean we're not going?" Boo and Tuxedo are nothing if not curious. Boo's eyes provide the banner for this blog.

“What do you mean we’re not going?” Boo and Tuxedo are nothing if not curious. Boo’s eyes appear in the banner above.

They are the curious people, ever learning and endlessly creative.

I’m not talking about the show-offs. I’m talking about the people who draw attention not to themselves but to the world they’re forever in the process of discovering. They’re not people who make you feel small in their presence, but who make you feel that the world is large and that you too could dive into it as they have.

I want to be one of those people. Do you?

OK, maybe it’s an unreachable ideal. Nobody I know is like that all the time. Even the best people spend most of their time being ordinary (and at least some of their time being complete idiots). Such is human nature. But it’s indisputable that some people experience the world more thoroughly than others.

That’s what this blog is about. It’s about curiosity, discovery, and creativity. These three things are related to each other. Each one relies on and reinforces the others. And they aren’t abilities that you either have or don’t. They’re skills you can learn – and skills, I hope, that I can learn. Because that’s another part of what this blog is about: I’m just learning about this stuff too.

Let’s take creativity first. I’m a writer and editor. The written word is my chosen medium of expression, so naturally I’ll say something about that. But maybe you’re more of a visual person, or a musician, or a scientist (Yes, science is creative!), or maybe you best express yourself in some other way. Maybe you don’t know what you’re good at.

For our purposes here I don’t think the medium matters that much. I think writers can learn from musicians, and artists can learn from poets, who can learn from scientists, and so on. I plan to look at creative people in a wide variety of endeavors and explore what we can learn from each other. I also hope to learn from people who comment here.

I’m interested in a lot of things, and I’m curious about curiosity itself, because I’m convinced that cultivating an open and curious mind is not only a way to make yourself smarter and more creative, but is also a lot of fun and one of the things that makes life worth living. Along with that I’m interested in how we learn and how we can make our learning more effective.

But while there will be some tips and advice and didactic stuff, mostly I’ll rely on examples, because getting directly to the actual fun and interesting stuff is usually a lot more… well, interesting and fun.

My goal is to post twice a week, sometimes with my own thoughts, and sometimes to highlight materials that I think are worth sharing. I’d be honored to have you as a reader and commenter.

18 thoughts on “The Curious People

  1. sarijj

    I agree with Melinda. You wouldn’t have started your blog had you not been curious. I will be honest with you, I am a very curious person, I’m always trying to learn and better myself-but I also find I am boring because of it-many of my friends and family just do not understand my love of mental exploration. I look forward to following your blog, and learning about curious people.

    Reply
  2. amonikabyanyuvva

    Have you read Montaigne? The original can be quite heavy going because of the differences in writing culture, but I would recommend Sarah Bakeweils bookon him. He kept curious. I even like the word. Probably because of the Cheshire Cat!! Curioser and curiouser. Love your blog. Come back to it to give me ideas to pursue.

    Reply
    1. thecuriouspeople Post author

      Thanks! I’ve read Sarah Bakewell’s book, How to Live. I should post something about that sometime – that’s a good one, and you’re right, Montaigne was definitely one of the curious people. After reading Bakewell I was going to read the Essays, but got distracted by something else and haven’t got back to it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

